Facing Criminal Charges?

Your Reputation, Finances And Freedom Are On The Line.

A Child Sexual Assault Lawyer With Experience You Can Trust

Sexual assault and aggravated sexual assault are charges that arise in cases involving the sexual abuse of a child. These charges are extremely serious and carry penalties of up to 20 years in prison and permanent registration under Megan’s Law. The stigma attached to an accusation of child sexual assault is so strong that it can destroy a person’s life, even if that person is innocent of the charges.

My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, criminal defense lawyer and former prosecutor in Union County. I know how sensitive child sex abuse charges are, and I am dedicated to protecting your rights, freedom, and reputation. I will make sure you are treated as innocent until proven guilty. Even if you are merely under suspicion for a sex crime, it is important to contact an attorney before crucial evidence is collected against you.

Contact me today at 908-272-9700 for a free initial consultation by phone or in person. I defend individuals against charges of child abuse, child neglect, child molestation, child pornography (kiddie porn), and child enticement in Union County, and throughout New Jersey.

Child Sexual Abuse Charges

In New Jersey, child sexual abuse is charged as either aggravated sexual assault or sexual assault. The charge that results depends on the relationship between the offender and the victim. For a further understanding of the elements required for aggravated sexual assault and sexual assault, take a look at the charts below.

According to N.J.S. 2C:14-2, aggravated sexual assault occurs when an adult commits an act of sexual penetration with a child; and the child is under 13-years-old; or the child is at least 13-years-old, but under 16-years-old and one of the following circumstances is present:

  • The adult is related to the child by blood or affinity to the third degree; or
  • The adult has supervisory or disciplinary power over the child based on his legal, professional, or occupational relationship with the child; or
  • The adult is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household.

Also according to N.J.S. 2C:14-2, sexual assault has been committed when an adult commits sexual penetration with a child who is at least 13 but less than 16-years-old and the actor is at least four years older than the child; or the child is at least 16-years-old, but less than 18-years-old and one of the following circumstances exist:

  • The adult is related to the child by blood or affinity to the third degree; or
  • The adult has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the child; or
  • The adult is a resource, family parent, guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household.

Penalties If Convicted

Aggravated sexual assault is a first degree crime, and if convicted a person faces 10 to 20 years in prison. Sexual assault is a second degree crime and if convicted, a person faces 5 to 10 years in prison. In addition to these charges, the sexual abuse of a child often results in the additional charge of endangering the welfare of a child. For more information about the charges and penalties of sex crimes visit my other pages: aggravated sexual assault, sexual assault, and child sexual assault.

Dedicated Defense Lawyer

When faced with charges as serious and life changing as the sexual assault of a child, the future may seem bleak, but I understand what you are going through, and I can help with your case. Whatever you do, don’t speak to the police without an attorney present. As a former prosecutor, I know how the police and prosecution work, and it is imperative to resist police questioning no matter how tempted you may be to explain your innocence.

Contact me and together we can talk about the penalties you are facing, available options, and various possibilities of relief. Once I understand the circumstances of your case, I will know which defenses will be most effective in defeating your charge. The sooner you reach out to me for help, the better the outcome of your case, so contact me today at 908-272-9700  or email me here for a free initial consultation.