Facing Criminal Charges?

Your Reputation, Finances And Freedom Are On The Line.

New Jersey Megan’s Law Registration Requirements

In New Jersey, every convicted sex offender in the state is required to be listed on the state’s sex offender registry. This applies to virtually any crime that is sexual in nature, ranging from sexual assault and rape to luring or kidnapping a minor. Depending on the severity of the crime and the details of a case, a registered sex offender will be placed in one of three ranks: Tier 1 (low risk), Tier 2 (moderate risk) or Tier 3 (high risk).

A rank determines who must be notified when someone registers. For Tier 1 offenders, only law enforcement agencies are notified. For Tier 2, notification extends to community organizations such as schools, day care, summer camps and similar groups. Tier 3 offenders have their information shared publicly on the internet in addition to the above parties. The information shared with these groups usually includes the individual’s name, address, sex, race, age, physical attributes (such as height, weight and eye color), employer/school, photograph and vehicle information.

Failing to register and provide the required information may result in up to 18 months in prison and over $10,000 in fines. If you are facing a sex offense under Megan’s Law, do not hesitate to reach out to an attorney immediately to discuss your case and learn more about how the law may affect you. The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo offers free initial consultations so you can get started.

Megan’s Law Removal Requirements

After 15 years on the New Jersey sex offender list, you may apply to be removed from the sex offender registry. You cannot have committed any other criminal offenses in that time, and you must convince the New Jersey Superior Court that you are no longer a threat to the safety of others, sometimes requiring you to submit a psychological evaluation and other relevant evidence.

In some cases, offenders cannot apply for removal and must remain on the list for life. This depends on the severity of their past conviction. For more information on your unique circumstances and whether you are eligible for removal, schedule a free consultation at my law office.

Helping You Work Toward A Brighter Future

Sex offense allegations are extremely serious. If you are convicted, you will be subject to the registration requirements above and will remain registered for a minimum of 15 years. If you are accused of any kind of sex crime, contact The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo right away to discuss your options. Free consultations are available, so there’s no investment to get started. Call 908-272-9700 or reach out online to set up your appointment.