Facing Criminal Charges?

Your Reputation, Finances And Freedom Are On The Line.

Second-Time DUI/DWI Offense, New Jersey

If you have been arrested for a DWI/DUI in New Jersey, you will need to hire an experienced and aggressive attorney who will fight for your license and freedom. The prosecutor will likely try to shackle you with an ignition interlock device, among other consequences.

Penalties for a second-time DUI/DWI offense are more severe than for a first offense and carry a mandatory 48-hour jail sentence; a skilled attorney may be able to keep you out of jail. Having an experienced criminal and municipal court lawyer who knows both sides of the law will provide an aggressive and effective DWI/DUI defense for you.

I am Anthony N. Palumbo, a former prosecutor, a current public defender with over 35 years of experience in my own private practice defending individuals. If you have been charged with a DUI/DWI offense, I can help you resolve your drunk driving charge. Contact me, New Jersey DUI/DWI defense lawyer today at 908-643-6801 , for a free analysis of your DWI/DUI case.

Penalties If Convicted For A Second-Time DUI/DWI Offense

Individuals who have been convicted of a prior DWI/DUI charge will be subjected to much stricter penalties for a second DWI/DUI offense. The following lays out the penalties that result when an individual is convicted of a second DUI/DWI offense in New Jersey. For a first-time DUI/DWI offense, the penalties depend on whether drugs were involved and on the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of the arrest.

However, for a second-time DUI/DWI offense, the penalties are uniform regardless of whether the driver was extremely intoxicated or “just a little tipsy.” Second-time DWI/DUI offenders who refuse to take a breathalyzer face even more severe penalties. Penalties include:

  • An initial fine of $500 to $1,000
  • Jail for at least 48 hours and up to 90 days
  • The suspension of your driver’s license for one to two years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for two to four years
  • May have to spend six hours a day for two consecutive days in an intoxicated driver resource center
  • Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years
  • Revocation of registration for two years
  • Additional surcharges such as:
    $200 surcharge for the drunk driving enforcement fund
    $75 safe neighborhood fund
    $50 violent crimes compensation fee
    $150 intoxicated driver program fee
    $200 NJ MVC restoration charge
    $100 state and municipality fee

If you have been charged with a first-time DUI/DWI offense, second-time DUI/DWI offense or third-time DUI/DWI offense, I can help you resolve your charge. I have over 35 years of criminal trial experience prosecuting and defending individuals. For an attorney who is skilled at handling drunk driving charges, contact me today at 908-643-6801 for a free analysis of your DWI case. DWI/DUI cases are complex. Together we can talk about your case, and I will devise a hard-line defense against your charge. I know what defenses to use to get the best results for you, and I will utilize every possible defense on your behalf.

If a police officer pulls you over for suspicion of drunk driving:

  • Do not give any information except your name and address
  • Do not get out of your car to perform a roadside test
  • Do not agree to an eye test
  • If asked, you must take a breathalyzer test or you will get an automatic license suspension for failure to take the test
  • Always be courteous and polite
  • Provide the officer with the documents requested