Facing Criminal Charges?

Your Reputation, Finances And Freedom Are On The Line.

DUI License Suspension / Revocation

A conviction for driving under the influence is extremely serious and penalties include extensive periods of license suspension. Without a license, everyday activities like going to school, driving to and from work, buying groceries, or going to the bank become exceedingly difficult. Having an experienced defense attorney by your side can make an invaluable difference in the difficulties you face ahead. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, criminal defense lawyer and partner at The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo.

Whether your license was suspended as a result of your First DUI Offense, Second DUI Offense, Third DUI Offense, or a Refusal Charge, I can help. While each case is unique, there are thousands of points from which to analyze a case and build an avid defense. In a tremendous majority of my cases I am able to prevent extended license suspension.

To see what an experienced defense attorney from The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo can do, call 908-643-6801 for a Free Consultation today and get the legal advice you need to put your charge behind you.

Suspension Time

If you are convicted for driving under the influence, the amount of time for which your license will be suspended depends on your Blood Alcohol Concentration (“BAC”) at the time of the arrest and whether this is your first or subsequent DUI Offense. If your case involves multiple DWIs, the penalties become much more serious. For an outline of the license suspension penalties that accompany a DUI conviction in New Jersey, see below:

First Offense

License suspension for a first DUI offense depends on the driver’s BAC. If the driver’s BAC is between .08% and .10%, the license suspension period is 3 months. If the driver’s BAC is over .10%, license suspension period is 7 months to 1 year.

Second Offense

If a person is convicted of driving under the influence and it is their second DUI offense, they are facing an approximate two- year license suspension.

Third Offense

If a person is convicted of driving under the influence and it is their third DUI offense, they are facing an approximate 10- year license suspension.

Reinstating Driving Privileges

Often I am able to seriously reduce the suspension terms that my clients face or have them eliminated all together. But if a driver’s license is suspended, once the suspension period is over, the driver must go to the motor vehicle department and apply for their license to be reinstated. This requires a $100 reinstatement fee. It is important to be aware that unless a person has their license reinstated after the suspension period ends, their license will remain suspended and if they are pulled over while driving, they will face the New Jersey penalties for Driving with a Revoked or Suspended License.

If you are facing DWI, or Breathalyzer Refusal charges in New Jersey, license suspension is just one of the many penalties you will face. Hiring an experienced New Jersey DUI Defense Lawyer can vastly improve your circumstances by eliminating jail time, seriously cutting associated penalties, and reducing your license suspension period. There are thousands of different points from which to analyze a case and in many situations my aggressive defense tactics result in an all-around dismissal of charges, even for second time offenders. If you would like to speak with an experienced DUI defense attorney to see what can be done for your case, contact me at 908-643-6801 for a Free Consultation.

I defend individuals charged with DUID in Monmouth County, Ocean County, Essex County, Hudson County, Middlesex County, and Union County including the towns of Elizabeth, Westfield, Plainfield, Linden, Clark, Garwood, Roselle, Roselle Park, Rahway, Mountainside, Fanwood, and Berkeley Heights.