Facing Criminal Charges?

Your Reputation, Finances And Freedom Are On The Line.

Ready To Fight For You Against Cocaine Charges

In New Jersey, possession of cocaine is a criminal offense that results in different penalties depending on the amount in possession and whether you have the intent to sell. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo of The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo, and I defend all types of drug charges in New Jersey. Whether you are charged with simple possession of cocaine or possession of cocaine with intent to distribute, I can assist you with your charge.

I am dedicated to protecting the rights of individuals who have been charged with cocaine possession, and I have been successfully defending individuals in Union County, New Jersey, for over 35 years. If you have been arrested, or have received a criminal charge or complaint in New Jersey, contact me today at 908-272-9700 for a free initial consultation by phone or in person.

Simple Possession Of Cocaine, Coke Or Crack

In New Jersey, under applicable statute N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, it is illegal for someone to knowingly possess a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) unless it was obtained by a valid prescription. Cocaine is considered a Schedule II CDS, and simple possession is a third-degree crime that carries up to five years in prison if convicted, and an additional fine of $35,000 can be imposed in such cases. As a former Union County and municipal prosecutor, I know how the prosecution works and I know which defenses are most effective in fighting your possession of cocaine charge.

Distribution Of Cocaine

In New Jersey, under applicable statute N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5, it is unlawful to possess cocaine with the intent to distribute. Penalties vary based on the amount of cocaine at issue. The following is a layout of the charges relating to different amounts of cocaine, and the penalties that result on conviction.

  • Five ounces or more is a first-degree crime that carries penalties of 10 to 20 years in prison and a $500,000 fine.
  • One-half ounce or more, but less than five ounces is a second-degree crime that carries penalties of five to 10 years in prison if convicted.
  • Less than one-half ounce is a third-degree crime that carries penalties of three to five years in prison and a fine of up to $75,000.

When a person has already been convicted of a first offense and is now being charged with a second offense or third offense, the penalties may be increased. It is critical to understand the penalties you may face for drug distribution charges, as well as possible defense strategies to minimize these consequences.

Get The Defense You Need Today

I have extensive experience handling the defense of cocaine-related crimes. In addition, I am a former municipal prosecutor and current public defender, which has given me vast experience and knowledge of both sides of the law. I know that being charged with a drug-related offense can be a trying experience. I have been successfully defending individuals of crimes involving cocaine for over 35 years. I know how to take the edge off of the difficult time you are going through.

Contact my offices in Elizabeth and Cranford today, and let’s discuss your case. I will provide you with a free initial consultation by phone or in person, whichever is most convenient for you. Together, we can discuss the charges you are facing and the different avenues of relief at your disposal. If you decide to retain my representation, I will develop a hard-line defense to fight the charges against you. Call 908-272-9700 or email me today.